News & Politics

The Officials Do What in Garfield?

I’ve lived in Garfield for a few months now. Let me start off by saying that it’s a beautiful town, due to the views of the surrounding cities, thanks to the mountainous hills. But the businesses never last, there’s always dealers walking down the streets, trying to sell drugs, there’s always noise disturbance, no matter what time of day or night it is, & the police are always parked somewhere, not handling any of these problematic situations.

So I found it very interesting, that when I moved here, I started seeing these “re-elect these candidates” in everyone’s yard. So I did some research on them, & three of the candidates really stuck out to me. Louis Aloia, Frank Calandriello, & Tana Raymond.

Aloia is a city council member. He started off as mayor in 1996, which lasted until 2000. Since then, he has been a part of the city council.. So 16 years plus his 4 as mayor. He has also been the owner & manager of the Aloia funeral home since 1980. Man, this gentleman must has plenty of money!

Calandriello was elected to the city council in 1996. He was re-elected in 2000, and has been serving the council to this present day. So again, another 20 years. Frank is also the president of a state licensed moving & storage company, named Frankie’s Express, Inc., which has been a family owned business for the past 50 years. DUUDE! These people have money!

The third candidate that kind of struck me, is Tana Raymond. But there wasn’t much to really find out about her. She was just recently elected into the council, which she started as Mayor. One thing I found odd, was that at the source of Garfieldnj.org, it says under her profile, that she can always be found at churches to give support. GIRL! I have lived next to Our Lady of Mount Virgin Church, & I have never even seen her attempt to drive by, let alone stop in and visit. But the one thing that really caught my eye, was the fact that she is president & chairman of so many businesses and corporations… Do I smell another Hillary C.?

Now, let’s see what they’re about as a whole. A list of their accomplishments include: Zero municipal tax increase, a new football, soccer & baseball fields, a new walking field, a new statue, new train station, new police station with more police, & new fire trucks.

ok…? So the train station is a good, & necessary achievement, because a lot of people in the tri-state area count on public transportation. But the extra parks, and sports fields? For what? There’s a lot of parks in this state already. Why not help the situation about these businesses always collapsing? & as far as the police situation goes, I mean, I just literally laugh. There’s always, ONLY one cop in my area, where the dealers roam free, where people are disrespectful and screams at the top of their lungs, no matter what time it is… So, we got more police for what, exactly?

I just hope that this city knows what they’re doing. I think they only care to focus on the new side of Garfield, off the main street, where all the money and business is. But hopefully they prove me wrong, & fix some real issues that the city faces.

 

Leave a Reply

