News & Politics · Product Living · Reality Snapbacks

Tis the Season to Thank

History of the Holiday

In September of 1620, a ship known as the Mayflower left Plymouth, England, carrying over one hundred  passengers—an assortment of religious separatists seeking a new home where they could freely practice their faith and other individuals lured by the promise of prosperity and land ownership in the New World (America). After an uncomfortable crossing of the ocean that lasted 66 days, the immigrants dropped anchor near the tip of Cape Cod. One month later, the Mayflower crossed Massachusetts Bay, where the Pilgrims began the work of establishing a village at Plymouth. In 1621, the Plymouth colonists and Wampanoag Indians shared an autumn harvest feast that is acknowledged today as one of the first Thanksgiving celebrations in the colonies. For more than two centuries, days of thanksgiving were celebrated by individual colonies and states, until 1863, in the midst of the Civil War, when President Abraham Lincoln proclaimed a national Thanksgiving Day to be held each November.

Food for thought, New York was the first state to accept the Thanksgiving Holiday, back in 1817. Crazy, right? I see you New York! But, isn’t it crazy that it has only been like 200 years? My mind is blown.

Keep in mind as well, that we have officially entered the most busiest time of the year, for traveling as well as shopping. Stay safe people!

A Yearly Celebration

Every state celebrated differently, back when it was a ‘state holiday’, some states would have parades, while others feasted & spoke to God on their religious beliefs.

Many people may not know this, but thanksgiving is not about feasts & turkeys, its not even about parades. The original definition for thanksgiving was for religious beliefs. All Americans were encouraged to ask God to “commend to his tender care all those who have become widows, orphans, mourners or sufferers in the lamentable civil strife” and to “heal the wounds of the nation.”

Another fun & interesting fact is that Thanksgiving was originally set on the last Thursday of November. It was only in 1939, when Roosevelt moved it up to the previous week-as we now know it to be November 24th-to help boost retail sales during the great depression. It looks like the ‘Corporation Power’ took off a lot earlier then we all presumed.

Thankful For What?

Every year, people set a single day to gather with friends & family, to give thanks, show love, & stuff faces with delicious foods. Now, why people don’t do this year round, I will never know, but its still sweet, nonetheless.

There’s always something to be thankful for. For me, personally, I’m thankful for my life, for god allowing me to continue to fight another day on this earth. I’m thankful for my blessings in life, that, with good dedication and hard work, have blown up in my life. I am thankful for my loving parents, who have taught me compassion, love, & comfort in life. I am thankful for my family, whom have good through so much hell & high water, yet still all stand by one another. I am thankful for so much in my life, that I could literally sit here all night. Every day I remain humbled, I just get to go all out on this extravagant day.

What are you thankful for this year?

HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO ALL! LETS GET STUFFED!!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

