Personal

Happy Birthday Bro <3

I don’t usually post on the weekends, but this is a special day for my family….

On this day, back in 1989, my fabulous, beautiful mother gave birth to my older brother. He looked just like me, brown hair, brown eyes, and a sassy attitude! My mother decided on the unique name, Brian. I came just shortly behind him, in January of 1992, but everyone swore up and down that we were twins.

All I know is that when I was born, Brian told my mom to put me back… See the sassiness? XD

But I know he loved me, just as much as I loved him.

He would be 27 years old today. But there was a tragic accident back in 1996, that would forever change our family’s way of life. He passed away at the age of six years old. It literally tore our family up, for some time, before everyone got a hold of themselves and found out peace again.

Every year has been hard for us to deal with, because we all lost someone so close to us, especially my mother. God bless her soul, she is legitimately the strongest person I know to walk the face of this earth.

I could not imagine what it is like to lose your child. I know what it’s like to lose a brother, a friend, a grandparent, a pet, but not a child. I can only imagine the pain that she has to endure every day, no  matter how big of a smile she puts on her beautiful face.

We talk to him, we visit him, and of course we always acknowledge him, especially when it’s his big day! I know he’s still celebrating, he’s just celebrating in heaven instead of here with us.

Brian was a special baby. He was the first child amongst the four siblings, he was the first grandchild, nephew, he was the first love of the entire family. So, when I say it shook up my entire family, it is not a dramatic speech, but quite factual.

It’s always bitter sweet, because his birthday is in December, he passed away in January, just six days before my birthday… So you can imagine how bumpy this time of the year gets for myself and my family, but we always make it work out, because that’s what family does.

Every year I toast to him, since it is his day to be celebrated. So for all of those listening, please give a special toast to him tonight, and for my mother as well, to lighten her spirits, I know she is hurting today, so lets be sure to tell her that she is beautiful, strong, loving, and that she will be ok. Brian knows that he is loved, and my mother needs to know the same!

Happy birthday Bro! You will forever be loved and missed!

– sincerely, your younger brother. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

