Reality Snapbacks

Mariah Carey Crashes NYE Performance

Mariah Carey was mortified after she had microphone issues & technical difficulties while performing on Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve in Times Square. So mortified that she walked off stage.

The famous Singer went along with the planned choreography, but made no effort to sing during her six minute performance. She instead spoke directly to the crowd about the sound issues. Among other embarrassments, the shortened performance exposed Carey’s lip-syncing on her hits and her inability to hit some high notes when she tried to sing because, she said, her earpieces weren’t functioning.

Carey’s performance went viral and unedited, especially after the west coast broadcast.

Mariah Carey’s representative, Nicole Perna, lashed out at the producers, saying “they just want eyeballs at any expense,” & “set Carey up to fail.” Dick Clark Productions denied any wrongdoing and pushed back against Carey’s representative.

“All I can say is Dick Clark was an incredible person and I was lucky enough to work with him when I first started in the music business,” Carey said. “I’m of the opinion that Dick Clark would not have let an artist go through that and he would have been as mortified as I was in real time,” Mariah tells US Weekly.

Despite the disaster, Carey said the performance would not deter her from doing live TV in the future, but noted she’d proceed with more caution.

Here is a video, credited to ABC News, regarding her disastrous performance.

 

This may be a little crappy of me to say,  but I’m honest, so I don’t really care. I do feel like its something that needed to happen. I feel like she deserved this karma, for the fact that she belittles so many other hard working artists and musicians. She continually acts like she is a royal diva. Now,  I do not down play all of her hard work over the past 30 years, in fact, I do have quite a few of her songs on my playlist. But the cockiness has become too much, so I hope this helps her become just a little more humble. She’s just lucky that she is so popular, that even though she was lip syncing, she will still be able to continue, whereas past celebrities, such as Ashlee Simpson got caught lip syncing, and basically fell out of the public eye.

What are your thoughts on the situation?

 

Leave a Reply

