Personal

A Year In Garfield 

It’s really hard to believe that in less then a month, it will be a year that I’ve lived in Garfield. I’ll never forget when walked up those steps for the first time. 

Plauderville Train Station, NJ 2017

My father and I did our last shift in Jersey City, hopped on a train – which was my first experience on the NJ transit trains – and rode it throughout the NJ plains. It was late at night, so I didn’t get to see much. It’s actually a little frustrating because now we know of the Garfield stop, which is fairly closer to our house compared to the Plauderville stop. But it was still nice, because it was late, dark, peaceful, and breezy. That was the first and last time I used the Plauderville station, but it still holds a great place in my heart. 

Russian Orthodox Church, NJ 2017

The very first time I saw this church, it was that first night that we moved here, it was lit up and so beautiful. I instantly fell in love with this church, based on the architecture alone. Churches do something to me, I always get mesmerized by the structures. Anyway, I make it a point to pass this church every day, so I can admire the beauty. 

Veterans of Foreign Wars, NJ 2017

In October of last year, my father and I ventured over to the Veterans of Foreign Wars building for a charity event. We paid money for some good food and treats, and got to see one of the funniest stand up comedy shows ever. We were surrounded by all of the politicians of Garfield. I even met this older lady while waiting at the bar, and we instantly clicked! I told her I was from the south and she told me she was from the Bronx. We laughed and had a good time while we waited for our refills. I’ll never forget that lady. It was an all out amazing experience. 

Our Lady of Mt. Virgin, NJ 2016

These are two items that I purchased during the Mt. Virgin Fair. It’s an amazing experience for the fact that it’s like, literally right outside of our place. The whole street gets blocked off and they fill it with rides, games, and good “fair-like” foods. Just like the VFW, all money goes to charity. So it was money well spent. It lasts from 2pm-10pm, and goes on for 2 weeks. The hype is real when they’re set up! I’m actually excited for it to return this year. Fried Oreos… you haven’t lived until you’ve had them! 

Family selfie, September 2016

I think this is what makes this place special to me. We have many memories in NJ, due to the fact that we’ve lived in this state for over a year and a half. And even though I’m not a fan of Garfield, for the sole purpose that there’s nothing here, it’s so dear to me because this is technically our first family home in NJ. We made memories here as a family, including birthdays, adventures, dinners, and bonding moments, all of which can never be taken away. Looking back on it now, it was the mark of the beginning of new memories in a new home, in a new state. 

Leave a Reply

