Personal · Reality Snapbacks

Alien Covenant: A Confusing Twist

WARNING**** THERE WILL BE SPOILERS!!!

When I heard about the new Alien movie, I was really hyped, especially when I found out it would be directed by Ridley Scott, who, not only directed Prometheus, but also directed the original Alien back in 1979.

BUT when I watched the movie, I was all types of confused. I am no longer sure where Mr. Scott is taking us. It is hard to tell if this is indeed the prequel set to the original aliens classics, or if this is going to be a whole new set all within itself.

Why do I say that? Because, even though Prometheus and Alien: Covenant are supposed to be set in the past, to show the becoming of the aliens in their pre-Xenomorph form that we know them as, the story line itself does not fit. In Prometheus we learned about the alien ship, and our “creators” who were trying to wipe our and recreate other life forms. Now, we jump into Covenant, and we’re on a completely different planet, where that jackass robot guy spends his time creating and breeding these alien forms to get the form that we know them as, aka, the facehugger, the big, black and slimy aliens, etc. Then the film ends with the robot taking over the surviving ship and adding three of the Xenomorph embryos to the colony collection.

But that is just the thing, in the original Alien, when Ripley’s ship found this alien boat, it was the same boat that we saw in Prometheus… So how do we get back to that point for it to become full circle? Where is that big boat at?

There are so many questions that I have, and to my understanding of the film, there will clearly be another film to come. So maybe that’s when we will come full circle?

It was a great film, a little slow, but worth it. I’m just not a fan of the confusing cliff hangers. But I am sure Ridley Scott knows what he’s doing! If you haven’t seen the film, go see it! I know I left a couple of spoilers, but believe me, there is still a lot to be covered!

Leave a Reply

