Personal

A Weekend With The Boys

It has officially been a week since I’ve been in Louisville, & it has been one hell of a busy week, let me tell you! But its been very nice. I’ve traveled around parts of the town and have seen the changes that have taken over the one of a kind Derby City. I haven’t done much yet, for the fact that since I’ve been in town, there has been responsibilities that had to be taken care of.

But I’m here to talk about my weekend. My Saturday was supposed to be spent with my two great friends, Jacye & Maggie, for their bridal shower since they’re getting married in less than a month! Congratulations to the soon to be married couple!

But sadly, our car broke down Friday evening. I went out to run some errands and the brake lines busted, so I didn’t have any brakes, which scared the living crap out of me, honestly!

So, my uncle, being the most unique mechanic that I’ve ever seen, came over the following morning and began going to work on it. I even stayed by his side for the entire 9 hour work process and help him as much as I could, I even kept him in good company, with great conversation and good music. We spent a total of 12 hours together, due to our intense conversations. I felt so bad, for the fact that I had to miss my friend’s bridal shower, and my uncle missed his friend’s UFC event, but I honestly feel like it was all in God’s plan for us to have that bonding moment together. It was also a great thing to work with him, because I was able to learn more about what to do on a car when something goes wrong. For once in my life, my hands got dirty! Ha-ha.

But that’s not all of it. Sunday was also a fun filled day with my other uncle. Sunday around noon, I realized that there was something wrong with my bicycle, & my other uncle, being the greatest handy man I know, said I could bring it over so he could take a look at it. We spent a good 3 hours working on it, because there was something wrong with the front gears. It was another amazing day, because I was also hands on with him, learning the tools of the trade, to make sure I can keep a future upkeep on my bike. I felt like absolute caca with him as well because he was supposed to work on his car that day, but instead he dedicated his time to helping me trying to solve my problem. Again, my hands got dirty, and I actually like it! I could used to the dirty business.

It was a great weekend, to get dirty with the guys, and to gain the knowledge that I gained. It’s going to come in handy when I’m in New Jersey by myself and won’t have them around to keep everything together for me, ha-ha.

But the best part of it all was spending the quality time with each other, & being able to have that one on one time. I also like to look at it in the way that my father has done a good job in teaching me to handle responsibilities and make sure everything is taken care of. Everything played out the way it was supposed too. I just hope I don’t have to do anymore mechanical type work for a while! Ha-ha.

How was your weekend? Was it as fun and enjoyable as mine?

Leave a Reply

