News & Politics · Reality Snapbacks

George Romero: A Legend Lost

History of a Legendary Icon

It brings me great sadness to say that the Godfather of the dead, George Romero, has passed away. I know this is no longer news, as he passed away on the 16th of July. But I cannot go without speaking of this legend.

I’m sure everyone knows Mr. Romero from the gruesome horror genre, specifically his classic zombie films. His first original 1968 classic, Night of the Living Dead, shocked the nation worldwide. When he made the film, he never expected the kind of excitement & publicity the film received, & that’s when his life changed.

After the New York native graduated from the University in 1960, he began doing film projects, such as short segments and commercials. Romero, along with 9 of his friends, formed Image Ten Productions in the late 1960s, and then went to work on filming Night of the Living Dead, which he shot in Pennsylvania. The king of horror went on to direct upward of 20 films during his lifetime, including: The Crazies, Dawn of the Dead, Day of the Dead, Creepshow, Two Evil Eyes, Bruiser, and many more. For the first 15 years of his career, Romero directed, wrote, edited, & acted in all of his films.

Mr. Romero was also an exceptional writer. Many writings were movie tie-ins or forewords. But Romero also wrote articles for DC Comics from 2004-2005, & for Marvel Comics from 2014-2015. His last writing was called Nights of the Living Dead, which came out this year.

Romero left a whole legacy behind. Back in 2010, Romero was interviewed for the BBC documentary A History of Horror. Romero is known as the “Godfather of the Dead” along with the “father of the zombie films”. Romero paved the way, & holds high influence for numerous filmmakers & artists.

I am sad to say that Romero passed away in his sleep, after a long & aggressive battle with lung cancer. He was surrounded by his third wife, Suzanne Desrocher, & daughter, Tina Romero.

Personal Thoughts & Feelings

It really breaks my heart to know that Mr. Romero passed away. He was a big icon to me alone, & a huge influence in my life. I literally grew up watching his films. My great grandparents, god rest their souls, used to have the original Night of the living dead on VHS, & I would literally watch it every time I went out there. They lived in the outskirts of Louisville, so it really used to scare me! Also, when I would spend the night at my grandfather’s house, I would always watch the second and third installments, Dawn & Day of the Dead. When I grew older, it became routine for my grandfather & I to see his new installments, such as Land of the Dead, Diary & Survival of the Dead. In case you haven’t noticed, I am a real zombie fan, & of course, it’s all thanks to Mr. George Romero. The horror genre and films alone will never be the same without George. He was a real legend & we cannot say it enough.

It also saddens me that, in May of this year; Romero announced his newest zombie installment: Road of the Dead. The story is set on an island where zombie prisoners race cars in a modern-day Coliseum for the entertainment of wealthy humans. Romero was the second director to this film, which makes this the first zombie film that he didn’t direct himself, but now the status of the film is unknown. Three days before his passing, on July 13th, they released the first poster for the film.

Leave a Reply

