Personal

The Greyhound Experience

I would like to take some time out to talk about my experience riding the greyhound for the very first time.

My dad and I had to return to Jersey for a short time to get our place in order. We were going to fly, but due to the fact that it was last minute, our plane tickets would’ve ran us at $800+ a ticket, which was a definite no for us. We checked out the bus fare, and it was only $350 for both round trip tickets, way cheaper by all means, also, I love riding or cruising, because I love seeing the country for what it is, so we went with the obvious winner.

Now, the fun stuff. We left around 6pm on a Wednesday afternoon. Within 10 minutes of being in the Louisville station, this homeless man got up in these young girls’ faces and started screaming at them, begging for money because they didn’t understand full English. During this process, me and this random guy made eye contact, he stood up and took his shirt off while I grabbed my pepper spray… Yeah, we thought it was going to go down. The homeless guy began to back up, walked over to another guy, asked him for his soda, got rejected, and left the station.

We’re off to a good start, aren’t we?

Cut to our 12 hour bus ride to Cleveland, Ohio where we had to wait for 2 hours for our next bus that took us to Newark. Up to his point, I was sitting with my dad, so even though the bus is uncomfortable, it was a little more comfortable sitting with him. But when we had our transfer in Cleveland, we got separated due to being previously crowded. So I had to sit next to this guy, who constantly overtook his seat, as well as part of mine. I was NOT happy. But my dad was next to me, just across the aisle, so it wasn’t completely terrible. 8 hours later we finally made it to Newark, New Jersey. The bus ride there took 19 hours, mind you, by car, it only takes 12! I was tired as all get out!

But the real fun is all in our returning trip, so strap in, because here we go.

Our departing trip back to Louisville began at 6 pm as well. We departed from Pennsylvania Station, which we’ve never been in. We literally traveled up three flights of stairs with 5 things of luggage, walked through the entire station, before realizing that the area we needed was right where we entered the first time… Oh boy, perfect start yet again.

Thankfully, we were first in line for our bus, so we were able to sit together, which eased my anxiety. I will go ahead and mention now that we rode side by side during this entire trip back to Louisville.

Now, we were supposed to reach Cleveland at 4 am, with a two hour wait, meaning our next bus was departing at 6 am. But, the worst damn thing happened during our trip. We were literally in dead, stand still traffic on the Pennsylvania highway, for literally two damn hours. We didn’t reach Cleveland until 6:30 am. Yep, we missed our bus. The next bus to Louisville wasn’t due until 2:30 in the damn afternoon! I was so not happy. But my dad and I made the best of it, because we took the time to go and explore Cleveland, which is a very pretty and innovative city. But that will be in a YouTube video so I won’t disclose those details just yet. But the best part of Cleveland was, as soon as we landed, dad went in line to get our tickets revised, and during the time, my ass went outside to smoke. From the 5 seconds it took me to walk out those doors, 4 people walked up to me and asked for money. I’m not lying when I tell you all that two of them were hookers, and the man was just released from prison. I had no time or patience. But the ex-prisoner was very respectful, which was relieving.

Our bus finally arrived and we had a nice, chill ride to Cincinnati. Along the way, we met these lovely and hysterically funny New York women. We literally sat in front of them, so our time was smoothed out with great conversation.

When we got to Cincinnati, we had another 2 hour wait, which I was so not happy about because we got to Cincinnati at 7 pm, which is 6 hours later than the time we were originally supposed to be in Louisville – our original bus, that we missed due to Pennsylvania traffic, would’ve had us in Louisville at 1 pm, but the new bus was scheduled to have us there at 11 pm – but during our two hour wait, we had three more people come up and beg for money. I ignored every single one, because again, I was not in the mood. We stayed with the New York ladies because we all just clicked so well. We were filling each other in on our personal lives and what not, and I even know where they live in New York, so we plan on visiting when we return!

The time ticked away, and we finally got on our bus. I’m not sure how I feel about the bus driver… This older man, who was clearly special, in the most respectful way, was trying to get to his location, and the bus driver just kind of shunned him away. But our bus was indeed our bus. So when we took off, literally 2 minutes from the station, the older gentleman was telling the driver that his luggage isn’t on the bus. No joke, the driver pulled over, kicked the guy off the bus, and told him he couldn’t get back on. This literally tore my heart. The gentleman had to walk back to the compound in the dead of night.

I was giddy from here on out, because I know the route of Cincinnati to Louisville like the back of my hand. So I was able to reminisce during the final parts of our trip.

We hit Louisville a little after midnight, just 28 hours after we left Jersey, and I ran as fast as I could out of those Louisville station doors!

It’s safe to say that, I do not plan on returning to any greyhound station again.

Leave a Reply

